I want to live in Plato’s Atlantis

I’m involved in an ongoing discussion about Lady Gaga with Stephanie, my BFFF (best f@cking friend forever pictured up top, on the left). Stephanie is not thrilled at or convinced of Gaga’s brilliance. I assume it has something to do with auto-tune and MTV, but I honestly don’t know because I’m too busy trying to figure out how I can get away with wearing asymmetrical leotards in public. Say what you want about Lady Gaga, but she made the right choice when she wrapped herself in Alexander McQueen’s rather luxurious coattails. I’ve always been a fan of his work, but his current collection is a nod to Plato’s descriptions of the lost city of Atlantis. I realize I’m not the only person out there who is psyched and talking about this collection, and I don’t think I have anything new to add to the discussion.

That isn’t going to stop me from talking about it.

For the less adventurous fashion lover out there, this collection may be a little weird, scary, and Geiger-esque. I’ve seen some bloggers refer to it as grotesque, and to quote one brilliant wordsmith, “Ew.” I personally think it is one of the most gorgeous and interesting collections in nearly 10 years, and not just because I’m a sucker for a peplum. And anyone who can’t at least appreciate this collection as a work of art, needs to just quit taking about fashion.

The prints!

00110m

WANT!

Alexander McQueen RTW Spring 2010

The accessories!

00040m

5

mcqueen_plato_atlantis

00360m

The prosthetic alien makeup!

00180m

In all honesty, I may be somewhat biased when it comes to McQueen. He was discovered by Isabella Blow (a personal fashion hero) and he so willingly panders to my favorite features of fashion (exaggerated and architectural waistlines and shoulders and clompy shoes).

picture2

But can you deny the brilliance of this luggage?
mcqueen

(all pictures lovingly stolen from style.com. go visit their sponsors or something.)

~ by punkrockbeth on November 11, 2009.

5 Responses to “I want to live in Plato’s Atlantis”

  1. AWWWW shit!

  2. So I didn’t get to say everything I wanted to say earlier. I think this line is totally absurd, and THANK GOD. Lady Gaga and McQueen are both being ridiculous, and are also pushing some limits. I thought that was a responsibility of the fashion industry and we outta praise it!

  3. Absurd is a good word. I’m not getting humps corn-rowed onto my head. I will however buy a fake pair of those “titanic heels” above as soon as i can find some passable ones. I think there are elements here that are going to carry over into street wear quite nicely. Don’t forget how he toned last years stuff down from the runway into totally wearable stuff.

  4. I think you knocked me off the fence with that Bad Romance video. Srsly, I’m a little in love with her now. I think the reason I was hesitant is because of dlisted, and also her music isn’t my normal rock n roll style, but her fashion sense and her willingness to be art, and push boundaries, make me respect her. I LOVE McQueen’s new line. I hope my new project doesn’t seem to be a ripoff of what they’re doing…
    ps-I’m on the left, not right. ❤

  5. I desperately need the dress in the second photo. NEED. Alexander McQueen is easily my favourite designer. No one compares.

Leave a Reply

 
